Hotel
Prices from: $88

Guest reviews about Hotel Il Buongustaio

Via Belvedere 90, 54100 Massa, ItalyShow on map
8.7 Fabulous
Price from: $88

Choose dates to see prices

Checkin
Checkout

Rating

8.7 Fabulous 311 reviews
Facilities
8.8
Cleanliness
9.2
Comfort
9.1
Value for money
8.8
Location
8.2
Free WiFi
7.5

Guest Reviews

Room for two
3 nights
October 2022
Family
Claudio
27 Nov 2022
9.0
Relax before Lucca comics
Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
1 night
October 2022
Couple
Simone
21 Oct 2022
8.0
Have a nice holiday

Value for money perhaps not too aligned. 140 euros for a room with a whirlpool seems excessive to me. Plus, 20 euros for the dog regardless of the dog I didn't like. Rather, post bail so you'll be protected in case your pet gets damaged or soiled. if the hotel decides to accept pets, it just accepts them.

Room for two
5 nights
October 2022
Couple
Christina
8 Oct 2022
9.0
We will return
Room for two
1 night
September 2022
Couple
Jana
30 Sep 2022
10
The way to the accommodation was more difficult, but it was worth it. Beautiful view of the city, good food and beautiful, clean accommodation.
Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
September 2022
Couple
Capu68
27 Sep 2022
8.0
Magnificent view of Massa ...

We hadn't noticed but in this room there is no bathroom - it's in a side room - it's surprising when you don't expect it! - a bit far from Massa

Room for two
1 night
September 2022
Couple
Séverine
21 Sep 2022
10
calm scene clean comfortable very very good

breakfast is not home made

Superior studio
3 nights
September 2022
Group
Michele
13 Sep 2022
6.0
we spent 10 days in italy and ended up in this hotel more expensive than all the others, fortunately it is tr

the position of the hotel is practically not indicated

Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
10 nights
September 2022
Couple
Karin
12 Sep 2022
10
Amazing and unforgettable

Nothing

Superior Quadruple Room
2 nights
September 2022
Family
Dagmar
12 Sep 2022
8.0
Gladly again :-)

A bit too many mosquitoes.

Superior Quadruple Room
5 nights
September 2022
Family
Minou
9 Sep 2022
10
Nice stay in a beautiful hotel in the beautiful mountains of Massa
Superior triple room
5 nights
September 2022
Couple
Rikke
3 Sep 2022
10
Fantastic cozy little hotel up in the mountains

There was no hot water in the shower in the afternoon and the bed was a bit hard.

Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
11 nights
July 2022
Family
Andreas
29 Aug 2022
9.0
Very nice hotel with pool

The quiet location requires a longer journey, partly because of the narrow, convoluted uphill turns.

Room for two
1 night
July 2022
Couple
Roberto
27 Aug 2022
8.0
we thank the staff and the owner for the friendliness and availability
Room for two
4 nights
August 2022
Couple
Jitka
26 Aug 2022
10
The location, the cuisine, the staff, the surroundings...everything was absolutely great. We have no reservations at all and recommend it.
Superior Quadruple Room
7 nights
August 2022
Family
Elvira
21 Aug 2022
10
excellent location and good base for northwestern Tuscany and the Cinque Terre.

you should be able to get through the narrow road up and down the mountain

Superior Quadruple Room
6 nights
August 2022
Family
Hanna
20 Aug 2022
6.0
I do not recommend . Not worth the price.

Small car park. There is a public restaurant in the hotel. When the guests of the restaurant take their places, the guests of the hotel have nowhere to park. Monotonous and very modest breakfast. Restaurant service is also poor. 30 minutes waiting for the card , another 20 minutes for drinks , another 20 for food . There were about 6 tables occupied at the time. The young lady at the reception desk is arrogant. When I asked to indicate the parking space that is on offer and it was one of the criteria for choosing a reservation, I heard that if I don't like it, I can leave. Quite a difficult 5-km. entrance to the top.

Superior Quadruple Room
1 night
August 2022
Family
Geert
17 Aug 2022
9.0
You have a Tuscan feel in the hotel.

Steep climb to get to the hotel and need a car to do anything else outside the hotel.

Room for two
5 nights
August 2022
Family
Nadine
9 Aug 2022
8.0
Nice family run hotel

The bathroom was tiny, quite cramped for one person. The shower was a fold down shower which was folded down due to lack of space.

Superior triple room
8 nights
July 2022
Family
Cosimo
4 Aug 2022
9.0
Perfect, I recommend the place.

Little storage space in the bathroom and bedroom, no small safe, last day of privatization of the baptismal pool, no access for customers -> very amazing!

Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
5 nights
July 2022
Couple
Felix
12 Jul 2022
9.0
Pure relaxation possible, especially suitable for couples

- Dinner is only available from 19:30. - no back balcony

Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
5 nights
July 2022
Couple
Sophie
10 Jul 2022
10
fantastic!

-

1 night
July 2022
Family
Anonymous
4 Jul 2022
10
Relaxing

I have nothing to say

Room for two
6 nights
July 2022
Couple
Rita
3 Jul 2022
8.0
We were with a dog and would recommend her anytime👍🏻!!!

numbers do not necessarily correspond to those declared. Our bathroom was too small but adequate for a week long trip.

Double room with private external bathroom
5 nights
June 2022
Couple
Patrick
18 Jun 2022
8.0
Very relaxing stay, enjoy again

Separate bathroom (in the hallway), a bit annoying long road (serpentines) with sharp turns, rather small room

Superior Quadruple Room
5 nights
June 2022
Couple
Wilma
14 Jun 2022
10
had great days! beautiful
Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
2 nights
May 2022
Family
Daniel
13 Jun 2022
9.0
deserves 4 stars

nothing, except that far from the city, but still noticeable

Superior triple room
1 night
May 2022
Couple
Monica
12 Jun 2022
10
Relaxing weekend
Superior Double Room
5 nights
June 2022
Couple
Christine
8 Jun 2022
9.0
Those were five great days
Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
May 2022
Group
Gerd
28 May 2022
9.0
perfect for a short vacation
Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
3 nights
May 2022
Couple
M
28 May 2022
9.0
Heerlijk!

Nothing. It was a wonderful vacation. The only thing is that you are isolated, you can't go anywhere in peace. But you know this in advance, and we just stayed at the hotel for a few days.

Double room with private external bathroom
3 nights
May 2022
Couple
Kathrin
25 May 2022
6.0
If you are looking for peace, this is the right place.

Stuck on the first day, very small rooms, breakfast passable at best. It took quite a long time to get to the hotel, it was possible only in small cars, there was nothing to buy near the hotel, the road to the city was about 45 minutes.

Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
May 2022
Couple
Peter
19 May 2022
10
Dream place

Nothing.

Room for two
1 night
May 2022
Group
Françoise
17 May 2022
10
we were passing through a stopover between marseille and elba island, we wish we could have stayed longer!

nothing

Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
1 night
February 2022
Couple
Stbguest
7 May 2022
8.0
A good place

Nothing

Room for two
2 nights
May 2022
Family
Mariet
1 May 2022
8.0
Great hotel with great views!

The road is a challenge with all those curves. Delicious and warm buns for breakfast were not replenished. The people who came at 8:30 were just unlucky. Top = left.

Room for two
2 nights
May 2022
Group
Marco
1 May 2022
8.0
a good solution to get away from the chaos of the marines

let's say the floor shower next to the toilet, while effective, needs a bit of attention so as not to flood everything

Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
April 2022
Couple
Gerald
26 Apr 2022
8.0
nice team, in a beautiful location very good value for money good location, good restaurant.
Superior studio
3 nights
April 2022
Family
Fabio
19 Apr 2022
8.0
Very hospitable and kind. for a mistake in the operation of the stoves we were offered breakfast

mini apartment management: there was no hair dryer and bath mat if 3 guest need crockery x 3. If you accept pets you don't need to charge extra after booking.

Room for two
1 night
February 2022
Family
Viola
28 Feb 2022
10
Everything is very nice ... cuddle

Unfortunately, the road to it is very narrow and winding, but I'm sure it's worth walking along to escape the crowds and the summer heat! Unfortunately for us, we went there in February...but at least we ate some great mushrooms!

1 night
October 2021
Family
Anonymous
27 Oct 2021
10
Very nice hotel with old fashioned charm

nothing

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
September 2021
Family
Bilel
30 Sep 2021
6.0
Showers and toilets outside the room

Showers and toilets outside the room!

Room for two
4 nights
September 2021
Couple
Ger
27 Sep 2021
7.0
Nice stay and delicious food.

The bathroom/shower left a lot to be desired. I had to expand the shower screen on 3 sides, making it almost opposite the toilet and bidet. It also turned into a wet mess around the toilet. To reach the hotel, you have to cover about 5 km with many sharp turns and narrow roads.

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
September 2021
Couple
Paweł
17 Sep 2021
8.0
Very good

the room was located above the kitchen and the room where pizza was baked, until 22:00 the noise from below was unbearable, it was impossible to rest because the sounds were loud and annoying, the bathroom outside the room was very dark, stuffy, the smell inside was soft there was probably mold on the walls - the bathroom looked like it had been moved from another facility, it definitely didn't match the hotel and room standard, I'm guessing the standard for a room for 10 and no more than 2 bathrooms

Superior Double Room
7 nights
September 2021
Family
Marek
17 Sep 2021
8.0
Very good

Very poor breakfast, rather small room

Double room with private external bathroom
4 nights
September 2021
Couple
Vincent
14 Sep 2021
10
Fine
Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
1 night
September 2021
Group
Davide
13 Sep 2021
8.0
Nice and well maintained structure. Beautiful pool and panorama.

The 21 '' TV in front of the bed is really useless, an extra smile from the staff would be appreciated .. value for money is a bit overpriced ..

Room for two
1 night
September 2021
Couple
Elisa
7 Sep 2021
8.0
Very good
Room for two
7 nights
September 2021
Couple
Laurent
4 Sep 2021
9.0
A very pleasant week surrounded by friendly and very pleasant staff.

Perhaps the pool can be heated because it is a little chilly at the end of summer to keep it at the right temperature.

Superior triple room
5 nights
August 2021
Family
Katja
31 Aug 2021
10
Exceptional
Room for two
2 nights
August 2021
Group
Maganuco
31 Aug 2021
9.0

The only thing I didn't like was the shower stall with a modular shower stall that sits on the floor without a pallet.

Room for two
2 nights
August 2021
Couple
Eleonora
31 Aug 2021
8.0
Very good
Superior Double Room
5 nights
August 2021
Group
Wassim
23 Aug 2021
4.0
Disappointing

- Poor breakfast - Very far from the sea considering that it takes only 15 minutes of hairpin turns to reach the valley and about 40 minutes to forte dei marmi. So if you want to come for a holiday this is not the place as you will find that driving more than usual! - Departure is forcibly carried out earlier than the appointed time. - The room is too small to be improved. We definitely won't be back

Superior Quadruple Room
6 nights
August 2021
Couple
Pietro
22 Aug 2021
9.0
Disappointment to leave this hotel

If I really need to find a bug: Wi-Fi was low and restaurant service was always a little slow, if you have kids time may be a bit of an issue.

Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
5 nights
August 2021
Couple
Larissa
19 Aug 2021
8.0
Picturesque building!

Location away from the center and beaches. The view is very beautiful, but right in the middle you can see an ill-positioned ball of light. Even though it is a quiet building, a family with children can be found. The bathtub in one of the deluxe rooms is narrow (for one person), which, however, is not indicated in the selection. The car park can be compromised due to the large number of customers who frequent the restaurant.

Superior triple room
3 nights
August 2021
Family
Mario
16 Aug 2021
8.0
3 days of relaxation
Room for two
1 night
August 2021
Couple
Francesco
10 Aug 2021
9.0
Perfect

Slightly dated bathroom

Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
5 nights
August 2021
Couple
Zagers
6 Aug 2021
9.0
Perfect

Only the weather was a little disappointing during our stay on the mountain so we didn't use the pool. Getting to your hotel along the long, winding road uphill can be challenging!

Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
August 2021
Couple
Tessa
5 Aug 2021
8.0

Small room, separate bathroom, clean, but a bit old.

Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
9 nights
July 2021
Couple
Angelique
28 Jul 2021
9.0
Harbor of peace

Soundproofing rooms ...

Superior Double Room
9 nights
July 2021
Couple
Tamás
25 Jul 2021
10
Peace, tranquility, beautiful greenery, impeccable cuisine, perfect, friendly, correct HOSPITALITY

There was no such! However, they couldn't do that. The bad manners of the Belgian guests and their behavior related to COVID were unpleasant! It is inexplicable why they leave home, if this is their attitude and worldview!

Room for two
1 night
July 2021
Couple
Mary
14 Jul 2021
7.0
Not bad

Not easy to get to given the location. It takes about 20 minutes between climbs and turns to walk 6 km. We wanted to use the pool but it wasn't until we got there that we were informed that it was not available due to a wedding being held on site. They should have warned in the first place. The price is a bit high for what is offered.

Double room with private external bathroom
7 nights
July 2021
Couple
Jarousz
11 Jul 2021
9.0
Great hotel in a quiet location with very friendly staff.

We would have liked some vegetables or fruit for breakfast, otherwise the selection was sufficient.

Superior Quadruple Room
3 nights
July 2021
Couple
Alessia
10 Jul 2021
10
Exceptional

Lovely location and food

Room for two
1 night
July 2021
Couple
Lydia
10 Jul 2021
9.0
Wonderful panorama!

You must climb the stairs with your suitcases!

Double room with private external bathroom
3 nights
June 2021
Couple
Paola
29 Jun 2021
10
Complete relaxation
Superior triple room
1 night
May 2021
Group
Stefano
4 Jun 2021
6.0
We will not return

Asking us 8 euros a day to park the car in front of a small field

Superior triple room
2 nights
May 2021
Group
Hans
2 Jun 2021
9.0
Super nice family run hotel with great facilities and service

Nothing, everything was fine

Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
1 night
May 2021
Couple
Romina
24 May 2021
8.0
Weekend in Tuscany

The room is a little small to be luxurious, the breakfast is a little bad

Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
1 night
May 2021
Solo traveler
Lorenzo
21 May 2021
10
Exceptional
Room for two
2 nights
February 2021
Couple
Daniele
21 Feb 2021
8.0
Weekendino
Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
1 night
January 2021
Couple
Chiaraitalytuscany
31 Jan 2021
9.0
Perfect
Room for two
1 night
September 2020
Couple
Mario
5 Oct 2020
8.0
Very good
Superior Double Room
3 nights
September 2020
Couple
Gma
19 Sep 2020
8.0
Very nice hotel

Some information about the way to the hotel. Despite the beautiful view, it is far from Massa. The drive to the beach will take you 20-30 minutes.

9 nights
September 2020
Couple
Anonymous
19 Sep 2020
7.0
Good hotel

The rooms are small and it took a while to get used to the fold out shower, but it was enough. Getting there is a little hard, but you get used to it.

Room for two
9 nights
September 2020
Group
Julia
18 Sep 2020
9.0
Very good accommodation in the middle of the mountains

Poor soundproofed room, shower to be pulled out

Room for two
1 night
September 2020
Couple
Marijke
17 Sep 2020
6.0
The room was disappointing, 1st service lady was unfriendly. The receptionist was friendly.

The reception could have been better. We also found that the service lady is not very cordial. We booked a table with the lady at the front desk (who by the way went out of her way and was friendly), then we sat down at a table marked "reserved", then the lady from the service came in who was also at breakfast. She started speaking very unfriendly Italian and gesticulating that the table was reserved. She also came to pick up the order. The menu was in Italian and English, but if you asked a question in English, you only got an Italian response. We indicated that we didn't speak Italian, but she didn't bother to try English, too bad. The lady at the front desk came to help and was friendly. The food was not special and not very cheap. We were also given a different room than we booked, we stayed 1 night and then went to another place. It was mainly due to the service lady, she also didn't say anything when she came to bring something, very unprofessional. Tip: put someone in the service, save a lot.

Room for two
5 nights
September 2020
Couple
Anke
6 Sep 2020
9.0
Perfect

No complaints

Room for two
7 nights
August 2020
Couple
Elles
31 Aug 2020
7.0
Small hotel in a quiet location

It is located high on the mountain, in itself a beautiful place, but to get there you need to wind around all kinds of turns by car for 15 minutes. Upon arrival, we were not informed about breakfast times and options. The waiters did not speak a word of English and were not very friendly except for Diego he speaks English and is very friendly. Take a good mosquito repellent with you because otherwise you will get pierced. The pool had no railings to hold onto if you wanted to enter the water for people with limited mobility. Very few parking spaces. There are also parties that are not announced to the guests.

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
August 2020
Couple
Michel
23 Aug 2020
8.0
Quiet and secluded stop, away from the crowds of the sea.

Admittedly, the regulations and obligations put in place by the Covid-19 epidemic are undoubtedly necessary, but for breakfast or dinner, the waitress changes her role too much to that of the chief warden.

Superior triple room
5 nights
August 2020
Couple
Marie
21 Aug 2020
10
Great vacation from A to Z
Room for two
3 nights
August 2020
Couple
Andrew
20 Aug 2020
10
A magnificent and relaxing holiday next to the magnificent Apuan Alps.
Room for two
1 night
August 2020
Couple
Roberto
16 Aug 2020
10
holidays in the mountains
Room for two
3 nights
August 2020
Couple
Massimo
11 Aug 2020
7.0
Nice hotel, attentive staff, excellent cuisine, which corresponds to the name of the hotel.

Our room was quite small but it was a last minute booking and we took what was there. Being outside from morning to evening, this was not a big problem for us. Of course a slightly larger bathroom would have been better. But the device of the folding walls of the shower turned out to be effective. The biggest disadvantage for us was the road to the beach (Marina di Pietrasanta), about forty minutes, of which about twenty hairpin turns. Lastly, the WiFi was quite slow.

Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
2 nights
August 2020
Couple
Maurizio
1 Aug 2020
10
I recommend to everyone
Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
2 nights
July 2020
Family
Julie
23 Jul 2020
8.0
Owl step

The way there is a little strenuous, I recommend going during the day, not at night.

Superior triple room
2 nights
February 2020
Family
Jean
20 Feb 2020
9.0
Superbe

Access is difficult due to very narrow roads.

Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
1 night
February 2020
Couple
Francesco
15 Feb 2020
9.6
Perfect room, very kind and polite staff
Room for two
2 nights
October 2019
Couple
Jjörg
27 Oct 2019
9.2
An excellent hotel in a quiet location.

The entrance to the hotel is not easy to find. More signs would be helpful.

Superior triple room
1 night
October 2019
Family
Elita86
13 Oct 2019
9.6
Beautiful 😀
Superior triple room
2 nights
September 2019
Solo traveler
Bettina
26 Sep 2019
9.6
Recreation and entertainment in a quiet place

Our room was next to the front door which opens/closes very loudly.

Room for two
7 nights
September 2019
Couple
Laura
15 Sep 2019
8.3
The name of the hotel is always a program

The rooms were very noisy, the folding shower was a bit old and not very cramped.

Room for two
7 nights
September 2019
Group
Thomas
9 Sep 2019
8.8
We had a lovely relaxing holiday, good location for many great trips

It takes a long time to get used to the hotel due to its location on the mountain and narrow streets.

Superior triple room
1 night
August 2019
Family
Andrealucchini
28 Aug 2019
9.6
Excellent structure and panoramic view

nothing

Double room with private external bathroom
5 nights
August 2019
Couple
Alain
25 Aug 2019
8.3
Ok, but the room was disappointing

The room and bathroom are very small and the bathroom was across the hallway which was not well stated when booking. Com and without terrace

Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
4 nights
August 2019
Couple
Pasquale
24 Aug 2019
9.6
Tuscany is not only Versilia... it is also a gourmet hotel.

Nothing

Superior triple room
1 night
August 2019
Couple
Peter
24 Aug 2019
9.2
Very quiet great location, nice pool and great food
Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
August 2019
Couple
Sara
12 Aug 2019
6.7
Pleasant

Lots of climbs and too many turns to get to the hotel

Superior Quadruple Room
1 night
August 2019
Family
Sandra
10 Aug 2019
9.6
Special hotel with amazing food!
Superior triple room
7 nights
August 2019
Family
Dirk
9 Aug 2019
5.0
Disappointing

The route (mountain road with sharp turns) was terrible. The breakfast is really not good. No fresh bread. The eggs are green inside. Fruit juice from the package. Our stay was very disappointing. We thought it was an old playing card hotel.

Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
August 2019
Couple
Christine
3 Aug 2019
9.2
Great stopover for the Cinque Terre with a boat visit and train return...

The bathroom is outside the room... but in the category of a hotelier, this is my fault... I was inattentive when booking....

Room for two
3 nights
July 2019
Couple
Christophe
30 Jul 2019
9.2
Very good hotel and restaurant
Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
July 2019
Couple
Moto46
28 Jul 2019
8.8
Relaxation weekend

No window in the bathroom.

Room for two
9 nights
July 2019
Couple
Peter
26 Jul 2019
10
peace

the breakfast buffet we missed the fresh jams we got elsewhere in the region

Room for two
5 nights
July 2019
Family
Lothar
24 Jul 2019
10
It was just great.
Deluxe Double with Hot Tub
1 night
July 2019
Couple
Piero
22 Jul 2019
9.6
Sun and relaxation

The road to the hotel is a little run down, but it's definitely not the hotel's fault!

Room for two
3 nights
July 2019
Couple
Aurélie
21 Jul 2019
10
Absolutely amazing!!
Room for two
7 nights
July 2019
Couple
Marc
11 Jul 2019
10
Lovely, relaxing stay

The road to the hotel (the last 5 km) is steep and winding.