Guest house
Prices from: $95

Guest reviews about La Monardière

Chaussée de Pailhe 8/ A, 4577 Modave, BelgiumShow on map
8.9 Fabulous
Price from: $95

Choose dates to see prices

Checkin
Checkout

Rating

8.9 Fabulous 313 reviews
Facilities
9.0
Cleanliness
9.2
Comfort
9.2
Value for money
9.3
Location
9.3
Free WiFi
9.6

Guest Reviews

Double room with spa bath
1 night
January 2023
Couple
Christian
27 Jan 2023
8.0
Nice stay in the middle of the green.

There was a bit of a musty smell and the jacussi didn't work, too bad.

Double room with spa bath
1 night
December 2022
Family
Dirk
12 Dec 2022
9.0
we are coming back

nothing

Double room with spa bath
1 night
November 2022
Couple
Ann
26 Nov 2022
10
Ideal!

Nothing to criticize!

Double room with spa bath
4 nights
October 2022
Couple
Matthieu
28 Oct 2022
9.0
super deluxe

very neat and very friendly owner

Double room with spa bath
1 night
October 2022
Couple
Marie-france
2 Oct 2022
8.0
Very good experience

Nothing

Double room with spa bath
1 night
September 2022
Couple
Bart
23 Sep 2022
8.0
Nice and welcoming place to stay.
Double room with spa bath
1 night
September 2022
Couple
Els
21 Sep 2022
9.0
relaxing
Double room with spa bath
1 night
September 2022
Couple
Thérèse
19 Sep 2022
7.0
The friendliness of the owner. Decent housing.
Double room with spa bath
3 nights
September 2022
Couple
Jolanda
17 Sep 2022
8.0
A must for those who love hiking/biking.

Unfortunately the hot tub was broken. Force majeure, sorry. We received financial compensation for this. So it was well decided.

Double room with spa bath
1 night
September 2022
Solo traveler
Thierry
8 Sep 2022
9.0
I recommend
Double room with spa bath
3 nights
September 2022
Couple
Claire
7 Sep 2022
9.0
Very happy with our stay.
Double room with spa bath
3 nights
September 2022
Couple
Dionne
5 Sep 2022
8.0
0(

Smell (musty), bath foam was defective

Double room with spa bath
2 nights
August 2022
Couple
Christine
13 Aug 2022
10
Featured.

No comments.

Double room with spa bath
1 night
July 2022
Couple
Joke
5 Aug 2022
8.0
very nice, friendly people, good breakfast, right price, slightly hard mattress

hard bed, rest was good

Double room with spa bath
1 night
July 2022
Solo traveler
Michel
26 Jul 2022
10
Perfair

Nothing

Double room with spa bath
1 night
July 2022
Couple
Francisca
25 Jul 2022
9.0
Fine!

The hot tub is out of order.

Double room with spa bath
1 night
July 2022
Family
Véronique
23 Jul 2022
10
Redo quickly!

everything was perfect

Double room with spa bath
1 night
June 2022
Solo traveler
Luc
30 Jun 2022
10
Friendly and welcoming stay
Double room with spa bath
2 nights
June 2022
Solo traveler
Léo
18 Jun 2022
9.0
Very nice

Ummm...

Double room with spa bath
1 night
June 2022
Couple
Loes
16 Jun 2022
8.0
super
Double room with private external bathroom
4 nights
May 2022
Couple
Dominique
5 Jun 2022
8.0
Great region to discover.

Courage to repair due to the last bad weather.

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
May 2022
Couple
Luc
12 May 2022
10
A moment of pure happiness

Nothing

1 night
April 2022
Couple
Anonymous
24 Apr 2022
9.0
nice place next to the castle

nothing

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
November 2021
Group
Eddy
8 Nov 2021
8.0
Go
Double room with spa bath
2 nights
September 2021
Group
Conny
10 Oct 2021
9.0
Fantasy
Double room with private external bathroom
4 nights
September 2021
Couple
Anouk
19 Sep 2021
10
Absolutely great!
Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
August 2021
Couple
Muriel
16 Sep 2021
8.0
A real corner of a quiet and comfortable change of scenery

Nothing in particular

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
August 2021
Couple
Sylvie
11 Sep 2021
9.0
Everything was perfect

Nothing to say

Double room with private external bathroom
7 nights
September 2021
Couple
Wil
11 Sep 2021
10
Quiet place.. great host.. great breakfast..

Nothing

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
August 2021
Couple
Fred
30 Aug 2021
8.0
Great stay with good beds, nice garden and breakfast at a good price.

The only downside was that the owner smokes which is felt during breakfast.

Double room with spa bath
1 night
August 2021
Group
Ilse
29 Aug 2021
10
Very nice and stylish in a green environment! Super friendly host.

Nothing!

Double room with private external bathroom
4 nights
August 2021
Family
Elly
27 Aug 2021
10
Great stay!
Double room with spa bath
1 night
August 2021
Couple
Johannes
24 Aug 2021
6.0
It was ok but nothing special

Luxury not worthy of Chateau

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
August 2021
Couple
Magda
23 Aug 2021
10
Big !!!
Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
August 2021
Family
Raphaelle
23 Aug 2021
10
Wonderful holiday
Double room with spa bath
1 night
July 2021
Couple
Siply
1 Aug 2021
1.0
Changing dates
Double room with private external bathroom
3 nights
July 2021
Solo traveler
De
23 Jul 2021
8.0
Very good
Double room with spa bath
1 night
July 2021
Couple
Alain
23 Jul 2021
10
Pleasant

really nothing

Double room with spa bath
6 nights
July 2021
Solo traveler
Sophie
21 Jul 2021
9.0
Very nice bed and breakfast

Minor current humidity issues but not very disturbing in my jacuzzi room.

Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
July 2021
Couple
Patrick
11 Jul 2021
9.0
Great weekend at La Monardiere
Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
July 2021
Couple
Steven
11 Jul 2021
10
only the maximum

nothing disappointed

Double room with spa bath
1 night
June 2021
Couple
Janik55
10 Jul 2021
9.0
Perfect
Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
July 2021
Couple
Sorina
8 Jul 2021
2.0
water damage and stale air, pleasant host

the roof was covered with plastic sheeting due to rain damage as we understood from the owner. The bathroom and toilet smelled so bad that I could hardly use it, I almost threw up. The walls were wet to mid-height, and I can still smell the stale air in my clothes and hair. Too bad because the room was beautifully decorated. I would not suggest these rooms again until they are refurbished if I were the owner. You won’t pay 78 euros for this, it’s not clear, since we only booked for 1 night. The bed pillow is very old, I couldn't sleep on it.

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
July 2021
Couple
Sofie
6 Jul 2021
9.0
/

/

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
July 2021
Solo traveler
Gerwin
2 Jul 2021
10
Exceptional

Nothing, it's just wonderful to stay there

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
June 2021
Family
Yves
26 Jun 2021
9.0
great stay with my wife

nothing

Double room with spa bath
1 night
June 2021
Couple
Maarten
21 Jun 2021
10
Super nice location and friendliest host

In general, there was nothing that I did not like in 10 out of 10 points.

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
June 2021
Couple
Kris
15 Jun 2021
9.0
Perfect
Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
June 2021
Couple
Lara
13 Jun 2021
10
Fine!

Nothing.

Double room with spa bath
1 night
June 2021
Couple
Béatrice
10 Jun 2021
10
Ideal

Too bad there is no mini fridge in the room

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
May 2021
Couple
Joelle
3 Jun 2021
10
A real guest room, where I would be happy to return!

Nothing to say other than that I would like to stay longer!

Double room with spa bath
1 night
May 2021
Couple
Severine
3 Jun 2021
10
Exceptional
Double room with private external bathroom
3 nights
May 2021
Couple
Bernard
2 Jun 2021
10
Fantastic and worth repeating

Nothing like that Everything to your liking

Double room with spa bath
1 night
May 2021
Couple
Larbi
26 May 2021
7.0
Nice B&B to stay one or more days

Pillows were too soft for me

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
May 2021
Family
Jill
25 May 2021
10
Great stay with your dog!
Double room with spa bath
1 night
May 2021
Couple
Vanessa
21 May 2021
10
Will repeat

That there were no drinks or coffee in the room

Double room with spa bath
1 night
May 2021
Couple
Olivier
20 May 2021
8.0
Very good

No comments

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
May 2021
Couple
Lecomte
20 May 2021
10
Very good and we will be back in the summer.

Unsuitable.

Double room with private external bathroom
4 nights
May 2021
Couple
Eva
16 May 2021
10
Fantastisch verblijf
Double room with spa bath
1 night
April 2021
Couple
Christel
6 May 2021
10
Good!
Double room with spa bath
3 nights
April 2021
Couple
Jolien
19 Apr 2021
9.0
Perfect
Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
April 2021
Family
Jelle
19 Apr 2021
9.0
The best value for money in the Ardennes!
Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
April 2021
Couple
Sylvie
16 Apr 2021
9.0

Less accessible bath for people with disabilities.

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
April 2021
Couple
Jan
15 Apr 2021
9.0
A complete surprise!

Perhaps missing a teapot with cups for making hot tea and drinking. And two glasses.

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
April 2021
Couple
Koen
11 Apr 2021
10
Featured!
4 nights
April 2021
Couple
Anonymous
11 Apr 2021
10
Very pleasant stay
Double room with spa bath
2 nights
March 2021
Couple
Wieger
5 Apr 2021
8.0
Very good
Double room with spa bath
1 night
March 2021
Couple
Lola
31 Mar 2021
8.0
stay abroad

The only problem is that the hot water tank is not enough for this type of hot tub. In other words, when the bath is full, there is no more hot water for the shower... It is possible to add a bluethoot audio system :)

Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
March 2021
Couple
Boyd
20 Mar 2021
9.0
Calm, pleasant stay

Quite a damp smell (probably better in winter)

Double room with spa bath
2 nights
February 2021
Couple
Tim
5 Mar 2021
9.0
A very pleasant stay in a beautiful location in a beautiful region

Due to COVID-19 measures, catering establishments are closed. (Luckily Jean-Francois gave us some great tips on where to eat)

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
March 2021
Couple
Heidi
2 Mar 2021
10
good place to relax after a walk
Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
February 2021
Couple
Margo
23 Feb 2021
10
Anrader!
Double room with spa bath
1 night
February 2021
Couple
Eva
8 Feb 2021
8.0
Have a nice stay
Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
February 2021
Couple
Charlotte
4 Feb 2021
9.0
Super stay and welcome!
Double room with spa bath
1 night
February 2021
Couple
Jill
1 Feb 2021
4.0
Bad birthday present

The booking was a gift for my father in law. I booked a room with a hot tub, apparently the hot tub was not working. I used my credit card to book, apparently I still needed to pay for the stay. I also asked for a little surprise since it was for my birthday, I didn't even get a response to that. Unfortunately. I also find it all a bit disappointing that little effort was made to speak English or Flemish with my relatives.

2 nights
January 2021
Couple
Anonymous
28 Jan 2021
8.0
A very pleasant stay!
Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
January 2021
Couple
Valentine
28 Jan 2021
9.0
Little romantic weekend with our two little dogs

The hot tub is in another room but listed in our room but that doesn't matter, there was a bathtub and a nice bathroom.

Double room with spa bath
1 night
January 2021
Couple
Ellen
24 Jan 2021
9.0
relaxing
Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
January 2021
Couple
Cleo
8 Jan 2021
9.0
Welcoming, familiar and generous breakfast!

Some moisture in the bathroom.

Double room with spa bath
1 night
January 2021
Couple
Stefaan
3 Jan 2021
10
Fun and relaxation

Nothing; everything lived up to expectations

Double room with spa bath
1 night
January 2021
Couple
Franck
1 Jan 2021
9.0
Great moment to share with two, the pleasure of the jacuzzi in the room

Very slippery floor in the bathroom And a fridge in the room in the summer would be a suggestion Our fridge was on the terrace lol

1 night
November 2020
Couple
Anonymous
30 Dec 2020
10
Very pleasant stay

The smell of cigarettes in the dining room when we had breakfast

Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
December 2020
Couple
Nadya
30 Dec 2020
9.0
Nice interlude..
Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
December 2020
Solo traveler
Hanne
20 Dec 2020
10
Featured!
Double room with spa bath
2 nights
December 2020
Family
Mohamed
13 Dec 2020
10
Very nice and very warm

Nothing

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
December 2020
Solo traveler
Rudy
9 Dec 2020
9.0
Very well
Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
November 2020
Family
Ingrid
15 Nov 2020
9.0
Very beautiful brace in nature
Double room with spa bath
3 nights
November 2020
Couple
Basile
2 Nov 2020
10
Calm rest in the bosom of nature
Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
September 2020
Couple
Claire
19 Oct 2020
9.0
Perfect quiet weekend
Double room with spa bath
2 nights
October 2020
Couple
Paul
5 Oct 2020
6.0
Relaxed.

The smell of cigarettes.

Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
October 2020
Couple
Nicolas
4 Oct 2020
10
Stay at the top

Nothing!

Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
September 2020
Couple
Oldskooltrax
29 Sep 2020
10
Upper!

There was really nothing to complain about! Everything was just perfect. Simply mastering French would be a must for the US!

Double room with spa bath
1 night
September 2020
Family
Marian
22 Sep 2020
9.0
Beautiful quiet location, perfect base to explore the region!
Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
September 2020
Couple
Vicente
20 Sep 2020
9.0
Nice surprise

To have it upstairs... hammocks in the garden, a shower curtain and a coffee maker so you can enjoy it in the fairy garden.

Double room with spa bath
4 nights
August 2020
Couple
Ares
14 Sep 2020
9.0
This stay is an absolute must.

No comments.

Double room with spa bath
1 night
September 2020
Couple
D
13 Sep 2020
4.0
do not repeat

Indeed size error v: a large bar of soap on the sink, which .... has already been used. In these times of the Crown? otherwise I don't think it's possible. There is no refrigerator in the room. No trash can, just this little bowl in the bathroom. There were no walls or doors in my soul. For us as an (older) couple this is not a problem, but I think a lot of people are concerned about it. The bed was small and quite hard. Only 1 sleeping pillow. There was a musty smell throughout the building. No cheese, no cold cuts for breakfast. Only 1 kind of bread. There is no bag or glass in the room. Also no possibility of coffee or tea. Just a small bottle of sparkling water. (no refrigeration) If you want to hit the nearest bike lane, you'll have to do some mind-blowing stunts to get to the top of the hill on your bike. Really too dangerous, but what if there is nothing else?

Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
September 2020
Family
Ivo
12 Sep 2020
9.6
We will definitely go back!

The shower in the bathtub is not that comfortable.

Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
September 2020
Couple
Kaitlyn
9 Sep 2020
8.0
Relax in a beautiful place

Nothing, everything was fine.

Double room with spa bath
1 night
September 2020
Solo traveler
Annemie
6 Sep 2020
7.0
Relax and enjoy

The room was ok but it couldn't hurt to freshen up outside

Double room with spa bath
1 night
August 2020
Group
Ariane
31 Aug 2020
9.0
perfect for a zen weekend.
Double room with spa bath
1 night
August 2020
Couple
Carlos
29 Aug 2020
10
Incredible...!
Double room with spa bath
1 night
August 2020
Couple
Ségolène
15 Aug 2020
10
Relaxing moment
Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
August 2020
Couple
Andy
11 Aug 2020
10
Super stay

A trash can in the room would have been nice. Wash only the very small bin in the bathroom.

3 nights
July 2020
Couple
Anonymous
5 Aug 2020
8.0
Very peaceful stay, beautiful garden.

Maybe 1 minus point, there was a musty smell in the bathroom, the antique cupboard wardrobe also smelled, we did not use it.

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
July 2020
Couple
Ivy
22 Jul 2020
9.0
main address
Double room with spa bath
1 night
July 2020
Couple
Catherine
20 Jul 2020
9.0
Stunning

I don't see...

Double room with spa bath
2 nights
July 2020
Couple
Frederik
13 Jul 2020
10
Super.
Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
July 2020
Couple
Carla
10 Jul 2020
9.0
Fantasy

Nothing. Were on the road. Do you need a car

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
July 2020
Couple
Zineddine
7 Jul 2020
9.0
Great bed and breakfast for a weekend getaway

Nothing

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
June 2020
Couple
Michael
7 Jul 2020
9.0
Very nice

No complaints

Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
July 2020
Couple
Couple
6 Jul 2020
9.0
Have a nice stay
Double room with spa bath
2 nights
June 2020
Family
Annick
28 Jun 2020
10
Extra weekend!
Double room with spa bath
4 nights
June 2020
Couple
Yaya123
26 Jun 2020
9.0
Wonderful vacation!

Nothing

Double room with spa bath
1 night
June 2020
Couple
Theo
22 Jun 2020
9.0
pleasant and calm

nothing

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
June 2020
Couple
Andreas
16 Jun 2020
10
Tres bien!
Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
June 2020
Couple
Conny
15 Jun 2020
10
Schitterend
Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
June 2020
Couple
Ozlem
11 Jun 2020
9.0
Would do it again because I really appreciated the place and the setting as well as the friendliness of the staff.

Large table in the bedroom

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
March 2020
Couple
Mohamed
15 Mar 2020
10
Wonderful

The need to leave this haven of peace

Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
February 2020
Couple
P
6 Mar 2020
2.0
Wet

Water floods the toilet. Not allowed. mr p.

Double room with spa bath
1 night
February 2020
Solo traveler
Philippe
26 Feb 2020
8.0
Sympa

the smell of cigarettes, probably due to the previous tenant.

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
February 2020
Couple
Lea
23 Feb 2020
9.0
Quiet night after fine dining nearby.

Perhaps a piece of cheese could have been added to breakfast, but otherwise there was no shortage. Homemade bread, freshly squeezed fruit juice, traditional yoghurt and various homemade jams.

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
February 2020
Couple
Marion
17 Feb 2020
9.0
Very good stay

The bathroom may not have a shower screen.

Double room with spa bath
1 night
February 2020
Solo traveler
Quarantenaire
15 Feb 2020
9.6
Excellent!
Double room with spa bath
2 nights
February 2020
Couple
Heike
10 Feb 2020
9.0
We will definitely return
Double room with spa bath
1 night
February 2020
Couple
Nick
2 Feb 2020
9.0
Upper!

Very kind. Very nice to work with the dog

Double room with spa bath
2 nights
January 2020
Couple
Liien10
23 Jan 2020
8.0
Recommended with an ideal price-performance ratio

- Slightly musty smell in the room and common areas

Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
January 2020
Couple
Efraim
19 Jan 2020
9.0
Had a very pleasant stay with a friendly host and hostess. We will return here

The mini fridge in the room could offer an added value. Maybe in the trash can.

Double room with private external bathroom
2 nights
December 2019
Couple
Olivier
29 Dec 2019
10
Awesome!
Double room with spa bath
1 night
December 2019
Couple
Chris
23 Dec 2019
10
Nice stay and we will definitely come back here.
Double room with spa bath
1 night
December 2019
Couple
Pascale
5 Dec 2019
9.0
WARM AND DISCRETE OWNERS. EVEN THE DOG IS WELL EDUCATED TO ENJOY THE GARDEN.

THINK BETTER VENTILATION FOR A GREAT BATHROOM THAT SORRY IS DAMAGED TOO QUICKLY

Double room with spa bath
1 night
November 2019
Couple
Line
14 Nov 2019
10
An oasis of calm with a touch of luxury ;)

The breakfast was very good and plentiful, only meat was missing for me to put on bread.

Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
October 2019
Couple
Hubert
31 Oct 2019
10
Beautiful, quiet prestigious place!
Double room with private external bathroom
1 night
October 2019
Couple
Alexis
27 Oct 2019
10
Know and make known
Double room with spa bath
3 nights
October 2019
Couple
Linda
26 Oct 2019
9.6
This B&B deserves 4 stars.